Vegan Lemon muffins with Lemons! πŸŒžπŸ‹πŸ§

Let’s start by stating that I love a good dense, moist cake accompanied with a good roasted filter coffee *black* πŸ˜‰ experience this with a good company or a lovely sea or mountain view.❀️

Here in Crete, where I currently live, the ingredients are so so so much rich in flavour and their taste is INcredible which makes me super excited to try and taste simple dishes. Now, that our current situation has changed dramatically I feel like living in a virtual world. However, we are humans and we need face-to-face interaction and I keep wondering how this will unfold… I believe in a higher power, God because there are some things that I cannot explain. Even though I come from a scientific background, I keep wondering why, how, what… Anyhow, let’s get back to the lemon cake. 😊

From the food science, perspective cakes’ main ingredients are usually: Flour, Eggs, Butter or Oil, Leaving agent, Salt, Sugar. Now, out there are dozens of variations, which could drive you mad and crazy πŸ€ͺ if you want something simple, light and tasty. I love reading cooking and baking recipes and reflect, it what makes me progress as a foodie agent! πŸ•΅οΈβ€β™€οΈ

Currently, I am practising veganism. So, I will attempt to create a vegan lemon muffin. Let’s just say it is experiment #1 πŸ‘©β€πŸ³

I tried to substitute butter and egg with tahini paste, olive oil and baking powder. The result were that my muffins weren’t that fluffy…but they were tasted lemoniee. Which I liked 😊

So I found a recipe from madame ginger and I attempt to make it with a bit of a twist πŸ™ƒ

for 9 muffins the ingredients you will need are:

  • 200g of self-rising flour
  • 100g crystal sugar
  • 150g tahini paste
  • 20ml olive oil
  • 50ml warm water
  • 125ml lemon juice
  • lemon zest from 1 lemon

The key aspect of this recipe is to mix well the tahini with the lemon juice in order to become homogenised and smooth. I order to do that you need to add little by little the liquid inside the tahini. In this case, you won’t get crumbles!

20200322_070031
Tahini paste mixed with lemon juice

First, you swift the flour and place it in a bowl. (Step A)

Then in another bowl, you integrate slowly the lemon juice in the tahini and steer well with a spoon till you have used all the liquid and the tahini has become more homogeneous. (Step B)

In a 3rd bowl, you add the sugar and you mix it with a little(1 tablespoon) of the lemon juice till all the crystals have been dissolved. Here you can either use a whisk or the same spoon (quick tip, heat it up a bit in order to melt faster) (Step C)

Then you combine the mixtures of step B+CΒ  together till they have been homogeneous and add the olive oil. Only then you add the flour and you mix. If you see that the dough is super dense place warm water little by little in order to have a dough consistency that is can flow…img_20200322_072232_007

Then you place 3/4 of the dough in the muffin trays and you bake at 150 degrees Celcius for 20-25 min …depends solely to your oven…a trick to check if the muffin is baked properly is too deep in the centre a sharp knife and see if at the surface has any raw dough…if it does then bake for more time. If the colour is ready; set a foil paper on top of your muffins till they are baked fully.

If you feel like placing a frosting you can try the lemon frosting. The ingredients are powdered sugar(2table spoons) and lemon juice(1tea spoon) and a pinch of salt!

Muffin cupcake with lemon

Enjoy this delicious sweet-sour muffin accompanied with a black filter coffee and a good book…πŸ“–β˜•πŸ₯°

I wish you be healthy, stay home and enhance your relationships with others. Communication is the key to every mystery!

Always laugh it is contagious!!πŸ˜‚ Have a wonderful Sunday my e-friends!

//Kyri🌞

Leave a comment